Astros-A Repeat as A-League Champions in 2018!

Posted by Astros Field Hockey Club on Aug 21 2018 at 11:00AM PDT in 2018 Outdoor

2018 was a year where a major project to replace the turf at Hawkings Field lasted all of the outdoor season and teams had to adjust their skills and frustrations with playing on slower field turf, (vs. water-based turf).

Astros-A emerged victorious with a hard-fought 1 – 0 over Cougars-1 in the Gold Medal match and repeat as A-League Champions! This match followed another very competitive chess match over Phoenix Black in the semi-finals the previous week, one that required penalty stroked to decide the winner.

Astros-A were able to follow the lead of Astros-B who had won Gold in their league final the previous night!

BACK (left to right): Sabrina Wong, Verla Wong, Nicole White, Maddie Romeril, Brooke Van Oosten, Stef Wind, Melinda Bretzer
FRONT (left to right): Burgundy Biletski, Nadia Izzo, Jess Britton, Emilie Pianarosa, Marla Richardson, Peggy Seto

MISSING_: Jose Esposito-Festen (_tended to injured Cougars-1 player at end of 2nd half of Gold Medal match), Dee-Ann Evans, Jenny Johnson, Paige Koochin, Aidan Pattison, Maryanne Umbsaar, Michaela Walter